Tag Archives: awards

Want to do ‘that vegan thing’ with your home? Here’s how…

As demand for compassionate and sustainable homeware grows – in line with soaring interest in vegan living – the PETA Vegan Homeware Awards celebrate the best designs and innovations for a cruelty-free home.

Best Vegan sofa

Rockett St George has won Best Vegan Sofa for its vintage faux-cowhide design, Debenhams is recognised for its innovative microfibre technology in the Best Down-Free Bedding category, the Best Silk-Free Sheets award goes to Habitat for its luxe Egyptian cotton Sateen range, and Ikea has taken the Best Faux-Sheepskin Rug award for its soft and warm Tejn rug. Other winners include Šimon Kern, who received the Innovation Award for his Beleaf Chair – made from recycled leaves and bio-resin – and vegan interior designer Emily Turnbull, who took home the Influencer Award.

Best home fragrance

“Home is where the heart is – and compassionate consumers are driving the demand for beautiful vegan homeware,” says PETA Director Elisa Allen. “Forward-thinking designers are experimenting with sustainable and cutting-edge vegan materials and offering a great variety of cruelty-free choices to suit every home and budget.”

Best silk free sheets

PETA exposés have revealed that many animals killed for leather endure castration, branding, tail-docking, and dehorning without painkillers before finally being skinned and dismembered while they’re still conscious. Terrified geese are painfully live-plucked for their feathers in China, and workers punch and kick gentle sheep and even break their necks while violently shearing them for their wool. In addition to being kinder to animals, vegan fabrics – natural or synthetic – have an environmental footprint that is minor compared to the devastation caused by factory farming and the chemicals that must be used to prevent animal-derived materials from decomposing in people’s homes.

For more information on each category and to see all the winners, please visit PETA.org.uk.

National Lollipopper Day and Awards

29th November 2016 – Today marks the first National Lollipopper Day to celebrate the amazing Lollipop men and woman across the UK. To coincide with this special day, Churchill Insurance has announced the winners of its inaugural National Lollipopper Awards, honouring the hard working Lollipop men and women keeping children safe on the school run.

After a tough decision by Churchill’s expert judging panel; Alison Hammond, Churchie, Mike Bristow from road safety charity Brake, Emma Williams executive director at PTA UK and Carrie Longton co-founder of Mumsnet, the winners and highly commended shortlisted Lollipoppers have been announced.

Over and Above – The Winner of the award goes to Bettie Ealand from Tewkesbury CE Primary School in Gloucestershire. The highly commended Lollipoppers in the category were Patricia Lunney, Linda Robertson and Sarah Gabriel.

Bravest – The Winner of the award goes to Elaine Hockley from St. George’s Bickley CE Primary School in Bromley, London. The highly commended Lollipopper in the category was Samantha Martin.

Entertainer – The Winner of the award goes to Herbie Lloyd from Battling Brook Primary School in Hinckey, Leicester. The highly commended Lollipoppers in the category were Carole Stokes and Sharon Salter.

Kindest – The Winner of the award goes to Linda Robertson from Morley Newlands Academy in Leeds. The highly commended Lollipoppers in the category were Martin Smith and Carole Stokes.

Each of the four category winners received a bespoke Churchill Lollipopper Awards trophy to mark their achievement as well as a £500 holiday voucher to treat themselves to a well-deserved break during the upcoming school holidays.

On the winners, Alison Hammond said: “It’s been a difficult decision to choose the overall category winners, as we had such a fantastic response from parents and children all keen to celebrate their hardworking Lollipoppers. I wish we could reward all of them for the time and effort they put into keeping our children safe on the school run!”

The most prestigious title up for grabs was the Lollipopper of the Year, won by Carole Stokes from Barwell Infant School in Leicester. The celebrated Lollipopper was chosen from the shortlist of highly commended Lollipoppers. This week Alison Hammond and the school children of Barwell Infant School surprised Carole whilst at work.

To support Churchill’s Lollipopper campaign to to: www.churchill.com/lollipoppers/awards